Goals for 2013!

2 Jan

2013-GoalsHappy 2013 Everyone! Last week I posted about the 20 things I am most thankful for in 2012, so I thought I would follow up today with my goals for 2013. I am not making any “resolutions” because I feel like resolutions set you up for failure. The definition for the “resolution” I am referring to is:

New Years Resolution : a resolve or determination, to make a firm resolution to do something.

The problem I see with this is that we are not perfect. When people make new years resolutions, and after a few weeks they “fail” at reaching their resolve, they usually give up with the excuse of starting again next year. There is no reason you have to wait until NEXT YEAR to accomplish something you wanted to THIS YEAR! Does that make any sense? Now lets look at the definition of a goal.

Goal : the result or achievement toward which effort is directed; aim; end.
This sounds much better to me, and less stressful. You have to allow yourself some wiggle room to achieve your goals, otherwise anytime you slip up, you will allow yourself to continue to slip up because you already failed at your resolution. I like goals because even if I slip up one day, I can dust myself off and get back to it, without stressing too much about getting off track. So, without further ado here are my goals for 2013!
  1. Run a 5k. This is a big deal for me because I am not a runner. I have never enjoyed it, and I still don’t but I want to challenge myself to do something this year that I normally wouldn’t.
  2. Participate in a mud run. This is also a 5K, and I am not so much concerned about running the whole thing as I am excited about the experience and trying this with some of my girlfriends. It’s coming up soon in San Diego, it’s the Dirty Girl Mud Run. Check it out in a city near you!
  3. Save $$ towards becoming a certified Pilates instructor. The instructor course I want to take costs $4,000. The reason it’s so much is its a Pilates Apparatus training course, so it encompasses all of the Pilates equipment. By having this particular certification, I will be more desirable to different studios and would be able to find teaching work more easily. I would love to do the certification this year, but with the wedding, I don’t think I will be able to come up with this money right away.
  4. Get my real estate license. I took the test a year ago and never paid for the license. I have to pay for the license this year otherwise all the work I did to pass the test and all the classes I took will be useless. I don’t plan on selling real estate, at least not at this point, but it would be silly not to get my license now which will cost me about $250.
  5. Lose the last 15 pounds. I am putting this down because it’s more of a finite goal, but really I would be happy just getting more toned. I feel like I will lose pounds of fat, but replace it with muscle, so if I do not reach this pound goal, I will not be too crushed. I want to look fantastic in my wedding dress, and most important I want to feel fantastic!
  6. Improve my weightlifting skills. I would like to be able to curl 20lbs on each arm by the end of the year, do at least 2 pull ups and squat 200lbs. I want to be able to see muscle tone.
  7. Drink more H2O. My goal this year is to drink 100 ounces of water every day!
  8. Read more! I want to read one new book every month. 12 books by the end of the year. Currently I am ready 50 shades of Grey. Next on my list is Safe Haven (My fiance bought me this book for Christmas).

I am sure there are more goals that I have, and I may revise this post later on down the road, but for now these will be keeping me very busy!! Have you set any goals for yourself for 2013? Comment below and share!

Leave a Reply

