20 things I am thankful for! 2012 Edition.

27 Dec
My dancers from the Mesa College Spring 2012 Concert. Me in the middle. :)

My dancers from the Mesa College Spring 2012 Concert. Me in the middle. 🙂

The new year is almost upon us, and so today I thought I would take a moment and talk about 20 things that I am thankful for over the past year! While most people are making their goals for 2013, I thought it was important to reflect and thank the people who have made a difference in my life. This was also a challenge for the #elf4health challenge group on Twitter, so I thought it would be a perfect blog post. It’s helped to really get my brain working again, and I am going to make much more of an effort to contribute to my blog in 2013. That is one of my resolutions. In my next post, I will talk in more detail about my goals and hopes for 2013! There are many exciting things to come, mainly my wedding in May, so I am just looking forward to saying goodbye to all the great things that have happened in 2012 and move onto new adventures!

Here are the 20 things I am thankful for in 2012! (And in life).

  1. My determination – Recently I have been really determined to live a healthier life. Although over the holidays I have to admit I have not been the most healthy, but I am more conscious about what I am eating, and how I am treating my body. I am so proud of myself for asking for a gym bag, workout clothes and Pilates classes for Christmas!
  2. My fiance – Without him, I would definitely not be where I am today! He gave me the courage to pursue a new career which I am much happier at, and of course he asked me to spend the rest of my life with him. 🙂 He has always been supportive of me.
  3. My family – My family has been growing now that I have Brad’s family too, and my best friend is having a baby! They have also all been very supportive and Brad’s family has welcomed me with open arms. I have to say it’s very nice to have in-laws you can get along with. 🙂
  4. Fitness – this is a big one for me. I used to be so active without even thinking about it, and then I got a desk job and gained weight. I learned I have to make fitness a part of my life, and I plan eventually to become a certified Pilates instructor and maybe personal trainer.
  5. Heath – I am so thankful to be overall healthy and to have a healthy family.
  6. Clean water – We as Americans don’t think much about the many blessings we have. Water is so important to life, and I am thankful that I can go and get water whenever I want.
  7. My job – I really do enjoy my job, I get to write and edit all day, and come up with all of our social media strategies. It also doesn’t hurt that I get to travel too!
  8. My travels – Even though it is tiring to travel for business, I am just thankful that I work someplace that gives me the opportunity to leave my desk set up every once in a while. I can’t complain much when I am editing on a balcony overlooking the ocean in Puerto Vallarta Mexico. Even though I am working, I know I am blessed to have the opportunity.
  9. My manager – They know that I work hard everyday, and so they keep giving me more and more responsibilities. Now I am fully in charge of our 2 separate quarterly newsletters. Editor in chief if you will. 🙂 I have always wanted to be a writer, but dance always came first. Now I know I can make a living writing and still dance on the side. 🙂
  10. Dance – even though I am not currently taking classes because of work and wedding planning, I still dance everyday in my heart or when I hear a good song I begin to choreograph. It’s a great stress reliever.
  11. My pets – I don’t know what I would have done without my cat Beau. He helped me through a lot of hard times. Now my fiance and I have Luna that we adopted for Christmas last year. She is my little princess and she always makes me smile.
  12. My home – I am thankful that, even though we live in San Diego which is crazy expensive, Brad and I are able to have a nice little place of our own to call home for now. It’s an apartment but we will find a permanent home at some point.
  13. Bananas – If it weren’t for banana’s I wouldn’t eat very healthy haha. I put bananas in almost everything I make without sugar because it sweetens it up a lot!
  14. Twitter – I am so thankful for twitter and the community of other lifestyle and health bloggers out there. There are people that are much more active on their blogs than I am, and it inspires me to keep going. They provide me so much motivation especially the @blogilates and @toneitup communities. You can find me on Twitter @stephaniesaum although I will be changing that after I get married!
  15. Close friends – I am so thankful for all of my friends that have been there for me along the way. Getting engaged is extremely exciting and it’s nice to have support in the planning process.
  16. My legs – thank goodness I have them and they work. Otherwise dancing would be a challenge.
  17. Living in San Diego – I know I am lucky to live in “America’s finest city” and many people would kill to live here because of the weather, but there potentially may be a move in a few years to another city to see if we can survive there haha. I mean the cost of living here is outragous compared to our wages. If it wasn’t for Brad I would barely afford my 1 bedroom apartment on my full time salary. But I am thankful I am here now. 🙂
  18. Colored pens – They help me keep my life so organized. I color code every little event. 🙂
  19. My planner – Same thing as the pens. I would go crazy without it, because with all of this wedding stuff going on, my head feels like it’s about to pop off.
  20. Anyone who reads my blog. – It really means a lot to me that anyone would take the time to read what I have to say, so thank you so much from the bottom of my heart. I hope I entertain you at least in some way.

Okay, it took me all day to finish writing this post. My problem is I keep starting these really great posts, and never finish them because I have so many things going on in my world at the moment. I think I will be extremely glad when wedding planning is over because even though it seems glamorous, its very stressful when you don’t have a wedding planner and you are doing it all on your own!

What things are you most thankful for?

Leave a Reply

