P90X Month 2 : Feels good!

11 Sep

I have to preface this post by saying that I will not be posting before and after month 1 pictures, because month 1 took me about 2 months to complete, and even then I didn’t stick with it consistently. I decided to move onto month two because even if I am not perfectly following the program, I know that I will still see results. This is pretty much the first time in my life that I have lifted weights for a consistent period of time and I am so proud of the progress I have made so far!

I feel muscles forming in my arms, chest shoulders and thighs, and I am really excited to see what will happen this month. I know I may not finish month 2 perfectly, but I have made a commitment to myself to try to stick with it as much as possible. To really push myself. Yesterday for example, I took a long lunch and went home and did the first workout for this month (Chest/Shoulders and Arms…and Ab Ripper X). I could not even finish the first workout, I made it with about 10 mins to spare but I was pushing my muscles to where they literally couldn’t do anymore. One armed pushups??? Not even on my knees, ha! And those fast and slow motion pushups really did a number on me. The result? Noodle arms today. It’s literally a struggle to type this blog post up. πŸ™‚

I have my engagement photo shoot coming up at the end of this month, and I am not expecting miracles but I would like to feel tight when that shoot happens (even if others can’t tell my muscles are getting tighter). Another thing that I discovered I enjoy is Hiking. Last week, a girlfriend of mine from high school and I hiked up Cowles Mountain, which is a local hike here in San Diego. It’s 1.5 miles to the top and a 950 foot change in elevation. It’s definitely not an easy hike, so I was super happy with the fact that I made it to the top!!! The elevation is 1,593 and is the highest point in San Diego with 360 degree panoramic views of my beautiful city. I have lived within a few miles of Cowles Mountain for a few years and am very surprised that I have never attempted this hike before.

Luna was telling mom and dad she was ready to go back home.

We thought we had made it much further, but we were only about 1/4 of the way up at this point.

At the peak of Cowles Mountain. You have to touch this sign, otherwise you didn’t make it. πŸ™‚ In my excitement, I forgot to read the sign.

I feel really accomplished because I know that 6 months ago, there is no way I would have ever made it to the top of this mountain. My friend and I plan to hike every weekend now, and I think it will be so great for us. We are going to Cowles again, but there are multiple tails around Cowles that we can try as well. Looking forward to updating you all after my next adventure!

Who is doing P90X right now?

2 Responses to “P90X Month 2 : Feels good!”

  1. wartica September 11, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    At least you’re still doing the p90 workouts, even if it’s not currently as much as you would like; keep going strong with it:)

    jonwatersauthor.com

    • Stephanie S. September 11, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

      Thanks a bunch! I am really trying to stick with it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

