P90X Update. Half way through week 2!

16 Aug

FINALLY I made it through a week of P90X! Granted, it was not a perfect week, I got through 4 out of the 6 workouts, but YAY! I am so proud of myself. I am not a perfect example of fitness, but I work hard, and I feel like I am the same as a lot of people out there. It’s really hard to start a workout regimen, let alone stick to it.

My life has been so hectic between working a full time job, my dance company, planning a wedding, and trying to make time for friends and family. I honestly feel a bit rundown. I am thinking that something has got to give, but I am not sure what that is. Should people make sacrifices with some of the activities they do daily, in order to be in a better state of mind? Have you ever given something up, to gain more of something else? I feel like if I take on one more responsibility, I will become unhappy, but most of this I do because I love it. I would love if I didn’t have to work full time, but unfortunately this is something that I cannot give up at this point in my life. I rehearse and perform with my dance company because it is who I am. I would not be myself without dance. The wedding planning is a given, I cannot afford to hire a coordinator so I have to do it myself, then on top of that, trying to squeeze in time for my family, friends and myself.

P90X has fallen by the wayside because of this, but I have decided that P90X is my ME time because it’s going to help me get my body to the place I want it to be. Making me a priority is very difficult because I want to make everyone else around me happy. My suggestion to anyone out there is to put you first. Even though I have been very busy now that I have FINALLY started P90X, I feel happier because I am making time for myself (and my fiancé).

I want to talk a bit about my P90X likes and dislikes so far, because there are a lot of P90X lovers, and a lot of haters. This is just my own opinion, so don’t look too deeply into it, but it’s something to think about. I really dislike the yoga workout. This could be because I have instructed beginning level yoga before, but this is the most repetitive and boring yoga DVD I have ever used (and long…90 mins!). I think what I am going to do, is use Kenpo X in place of Yoga on Thursdays, and then do yoga on Saturdays using a different DVD like Shiva Rae or taking a yoga class at the studio near my house.

Another dislike is the Plyo workout. I think I will be substituting this workout with one of the Insanity workouts because even the lower intensity workouts from Insanity, are more intense than the P90X plyo. Again, this is a personal preference. I am going to try to keep doing the plyo but it’s so slow paced its killing me.

One thing that I love about P90X though, is the weightlifting. Who would have known that I would love to lift weights and flex my (no so big) muscles? I actually enjoy this type of workout early in the mornings much better than cardio. I think my plan of attack is to do the weightlifting in the AM, and the days I have cardio, do it in the evening. I will continue to keep you updated on my progress and hold myself accountable to get into wedding dress shape! Until next time my friends!

 

Have you had similar experiences with P90X? Comment below.

4 Responses to “P90X Update. Half way through week 2!”

  1. sweatescape August 16, 2012 at 12:46 am #

    Hey, nice job so far. I use to do P90X all the time when I didn’t have time to run to the gym. It is a great workout…..once your done with P90X give Insanity a try. It is crazy.

    • Stephanie S. August 16, 2012 at 3:14 am #

      I actually did insanity first, which is why the plyo in p90x is so slow for me! 🙂

  2. inspirationbay August 16, 2012 at 12:53 am #

    there are different schedules for p90x. there is classic, lean and doubles. i do the lean program (substitutes plyo with kenpo: think karate) and i love it! its more cardio than classic, less cardio then doubles and just as fun 🙂 good luck and keep going!! you can do it!!!!!!!!!! i am on day 38 and never felt better

    • Stephanie S. August 16, 2012 at 3:13 am #

      I am excited to get there!!

Leave a Reply

