“Let’s Start Over” Syndrome

24 Jul

So, if you haven’t noticed already, I have definitely let my workouts fall by the wayside. Tonight Brad and I will be starting P90X all over again. I am determined to succeed with this, and even if we miss workouts here and there, I am not going to beat myself up over it. The way P90X is set up, it’s nearly impossible to find time to workout for at least an hour, 6 days a week {at least with my schedule}. With wedding planning and everything, a lot of my free time has been taken up going to meetings and tasting food etc. I am definitely not complaining, but it’s just something I have to work with.

My schedule is pretty hectic right now, but it’s all for good reasons! I am excited that I will be marrying Brad very soon, and I really enjoy the wedding planning. We have still been eating relatively healthy, but at trying to stay in a habit of cooking dinners at home. Tonight we will be making Chili with low fat turkey meat and a lot of delicious veggies. This is one of our favorite dinners because it’s so filling, and who doesn’t love comfort food? šŸ™‚

OK, back to talking about our workouts. Evenings don’t always work for us, and mornings don’t always work for us. I think what will be better, is if we think about our schedules ahead of time, and plan our workouts at the beginning of the week. For example, on Thursday we have a 5pm meeting with our potential wedding photographer. We should have sat down on Sunday and decided whether we want to wake up at 6am and do our workout, or if we want to do it at like 6:30pm after we get home. I think by doing this, we will have more success, because not every day is predictable. Also, I think we are going to start being realistic about how many workouts we do per week. P90X requests {notice I don’t say requires} 6 days a week and about 6.5 hours of working out. Maybe on the day we do Yoga, we only make it through 1 hour {instead of an hour and a half} and we skip one other workout. That means we spent 5 hours working out that week. I think I would be very satisfied with that. Instead of dwelling on the fact that we stopped one workout early, and skipped another altogether, I am going to try to focus on what we did accomplish. 5 hours of working out in 1 week is AWESOME, but if I think “oh I am terrible I skipped a day” then I will say “well I guess it’s OK to skip another and just restart next week”. That is what happened to us these last two weeks. I let myself use it as an excuse. I don’t want to be that person moving forward. If we miss a workout, oh well we are only human.

 

Have any of you experienced the “Let’s just start over” syndrome? Comment below with your experiences.

4 Responses to ““Let’s Start Over” Syndrome”

  1. Meg July 26, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    So proud of you for beginning p90x again šŸ™‚ You’ll totally rock it

    • Stephanie S. July 26, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

      Thank you so much!

  2. Meg July 27, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    Hey girl! šŸ™‚ I have High Five Friday every week on my blog and YOU are included this week! šŸ™‚ http://adashofmeg.com/2012/07/27/hff-24/

    • Stephanie S. July 30, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      Thanks girl!

Leave a Reply

