Travel Bucketlist : My Own Backyard

23 Jul

One of the things that I have been obsessed with since visiting Costa Rica in 2011 is Traveling! I am lucky to have a job that sends me to different parts of Mexico a few times a year, but I have an itch that needs scratching! Financially at this point it’s not realistic for me to quit my job and take off around the world. It’s also not personally possible since I am planning my wedding to my best friend. The one area he and I don’t agree on is traveling for a long period of time. I would want to go somewhere for 6 months and try to survive buy working odd jobs etc. He plays life a lot more safe, and I think that is what makes us such a great pair. He understands my desire to travel, and would never stop me, but probably wouldn’t join me for an incredibly long period of time, and I couldn’t survive long without him. I still plan on seeing different parts of the world, but it will be over the course of time, and in smaller increments so that we can enjoy them together.

When I was thinking about traveling though, I thought about the fact that I haven’t seen much of my own backyard (the US). I began compiling a list of places I would love to see, so they are going on my Bucketlist. Here is the beginning of my US Travel Bucketlist!

Jacobs Well in Texas. Who wouldn’t want to see this? It’s amazing!

  • Jacobs Well in Wimberly Texas
  • Smokey Mountains Tennessee
  • Yosemite
  • Emerald Gorge Oregon
  • Flathead Lake Montana
  • Glacier Park Montana
  • Yellowstone Wyoming
  • Watkins Glen, NY
  • Antelope (Slot) Canyons, AZ
  • Big Sur, CA
  • Anchorage Alaska

There are so many beautiful places to go and see in my backyard. These places are much more attainable too because they could be a road trip! I am excited about traveling. Next year I am taking my Honeymoon in Cancun, MX because my future hubby has never been (and because of work we can stay for free in our resort there). But once I save up my second week of vacation, I think I want to take a road trip and try to see a few of these places!

If you could see anything in the US what would it be? I would love to see your responses!

2 Responses to “Travel Bucketlist : My Own Backyard”

  1. Linda July 23, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    Grand canyon; mount Rushmore; Atlantic ocean; to name a few suggestions

    • Stephanie S. July 23, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

      Thanks for the suggestions!

Leave a comment