The Talk : Starting P90X!

3 Jul

Health and Fitness are important to me, especially with my rabidly approaching wedding. I don’t just want to get in shape for vanity reasons; I want to start a life with my new Husband on the right track. I want us to be comfortable cooking healthy foods, and exercising daily together. As you know, if you have been following this blog, we started the Insanity workout program in May with all the best intentions. We made it into month 2, but it just became unbearable. It seemed so repetitive, and so intense. I am not sure if people typically do 45 minutes of High Intensity Interval Training on a regular basis unless they are maybe an athlete. I hate to say we didn’t complete the program, because I do not like to give up when I set my mind to things, but I am also proud of myself because we realized that Insanity was not the program for us.

This is not to say Insanity isn’t a great program. I got really good results my first month, and it kicked my butt into gear, but for my goals (build muscle tone, tone up and lean out) I feel like P90X is going to be a better program. We may even end up mixing in a few Insanity workouts for some added cardio, but I don’t think that doing Insanity 6 days a week was really working for us.

This morning we started P90X at 6:30am. I am not a morning person at all, but I used to be up at this time anyway, so I figured I would get back in the habit (my old job required me to work 7am-4pm). Now I go into work anywhere between 8am and 9am. When we were doing Insanity, part of the reason we lost motivation is because we were working out in the evenings. This caused a couple different kinds of stress.

  1. We both would get home around 6pm, work out for close to an hour and then start making dinner, this made us eat dinner at 8pm which we were not happy about.
  2. Sometimes things come up last minute like a get together with friends and family, we missed workouts sometimes because of this.

I feel like working out at 6am will be challenging, but I think overall we will be more committed. It’s a nice feeling today to know that my workout is done, so when I get home we will just make dinner and then head over to a friend’s house for some July 4th fun!

Stay tuned as I continue to update you all on the progress of our P90X journey. I like that it’s intense, but it’s not over the top, and the warm up is not 10 minutes long of jumping around! I can’t even believe I did several (assisted) pull ups. I never thought of myself as a pull-up/push-up type of girl, but I really enjoyed it! I will be posting my measurements, body fat % and before pictures on the blog very soon! Have a great July 4th!

Leave a Reply

