Monday Motivation : Just get back up and work a little harder.

11 Jun

It’s Monday, and this weekend has been tough! I had dance rehearsal on Friday night right after work, so I was not able to do my MAX Recovery. My schedule has been a little bit off this week, and I really need to get back on track. I did so well the first 5 weeks, of only missing 2 workouts the whole time, but I was really trying to challenge myself not to miss anything this month. I know that life can get in the way sometimes, and I know people say to just get back on the horse and you will be fine, but I feel a little like I let myself down. I am not going to let myself off the hook by just making this week a wash, so I did the MAX Recovery yesterday (2 days late) and I plan to pick up tonight with MAX Interval Circuit. I am a few days off schedule, so now my “rest” day is going to be Tuesdays, but I can live with that. I just don’t want to use this as an excuse to slack off. I know that things happen, and life happens. Of course I am a little bummed because I have done so well and been so motivated. I guess in the back of my mind I am just worried that I will revert back to my couch potato ways and give up on working out all together.

Has anyone else ever experienced that? When I started Insanity, I was getting into the habit of working out every single day. This last week I missed a few workouts, but I cannot let me defeat myself. I have seen so many positive changes in my body it’s really incredible. In the past I have been the type of person to see results, and then say “oh I can take a break for a while now” and then the break lasts months/years. I do not want to be that person anymore! I am pledging to myself today, that even if I get a little off course, I will get right back on course and continue my journey to health and wellness! I am glad to have this blog too, because it helps to keep me accountable. I am also part of a few workout groups on Facebook that help keep me motivated too!

To keep me on track, I have set some “SMART” goals for myself. (Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic and Timely). Since I have not been losing very many pounds while doing Insanity so far,  I am setting goals based on measurements. Below I will list my current measurements, and then the measurements I hope to have at the end of this second month of Insanity :

Measurements : Current / Goal

Chest : 33 / 32

L Bicep : 12 / 11.5

R Bicep : 12 / 11.5

Waist : 32 / 30

Hips : 40 / 38

L Thigh : 23 / 22

R Thigh : 23 / 22

This is a total of 8 inches lost. I believe this is very attainable because I lost 8.75 inches in my first month, and now that I have been eating better, and these workouts are longer and harder, I think I can lost another 8 inches overall, for a total of 16.75 inches lost! I do not want to give myself a weight goal because my goals are to be tighter and leaner, not necessarily just lighter. I don’t want to be “skinny fat” I would much rather weigh more, and be leaner (if that makes any sense).

Hopefully you can find some motivation to continue your fitness journey from my mistakes. You may feel a little down on yourself if you fall off the “wagon” but just get back up, brush yourself off, and get your ass in gear. I hope you all have a successful week!

 

One Response to “Monday Motivation : Just get back up and work a little harder.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Setting your Summertime Goals! « Natural Beauty Mark - June 20, 2012

    […] the start of a new season, lets talk about goal setting today! I talked a little bit about my own SMART goals a few weeks ago, but I want to break them down a little bit for […]

Leave a Reply

