What I am Loving : Almond Cookie Protein Pancake

6 Jun

I really wish I could take credit for this recipe because I love it so much, but I can’t. I am honestly a really bad cook, but as long as I have a recipe, I do pretty well. (Side note, it has taken me a while to perfect this pancake so please don’t get frustrated if it turns to mush the first few times!)

I have a Protein Pancake every morning now. I actually look forward to it, and wake up early to make it! How about that. This pancake has turned a night owl into a morning person! Yay! The ToneItUp girls have about 10 different pancake recipe’s in their cookbook, but I am only going to share one with you today. It’s one of my favorites and I think it is appropriately named…Almond Cookie Pancake! Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture of the one I ate this morning, so I really apologize for that, but I will try to update this post with a photo later on. Okay, onto the recipe!

Almond Cookie Protein Pancake

1/4 Cup Egg Whites
3 tbs Plain Nonfat Greek Yogurt
1 tbs Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk (I get mine from Trader Joes!)
1 scoop Organic Vanilla Protein Powder (I use Sun Warrior Raw Brown Rice Protein…you could use Whey)
1 tbs Ground Flaxseed
1 tbs Slivered Almonds
1 tsp Powdered Stevia (i just use a packet of Truvia which isn’t powdered)
1 tsp Cinnamon
Organic Pure Maple Syrup

Mix all of the ingredients together in a bowl, spray a nonstick skillet with Olive Oil Pam and use a spoon to scoop the mix into the middle of the skillet. This mixture will be much thicker than Bisquick and is much more dense. Make sure to let it cook thoroughly on one side until the edges start to look cooked, and you see bubbles coming through the pancake. Then carefully flip the pancake to the other side and cook for another few minutes until you can flip it back over. Transfer to a plate and top with a little drizzle of maple syrup. YUM!

I kept making the mistake of being too impatient and not letting it cook all the way, so then when I would try to flip it, it would just fall apart, Patients is key for these pancakes! 🙂 Keep in mind this is not going to be as fluffy as the pancakes you are used to, so just be prepared but once you are used to the texture, you will learn to love them and you will love how filling they are!

Leave a Reply

