Toning Up : How to fit fitness into your crazy, fabulous everyday life!

18 May

We are all in the same boat : so busy that it’s hard to find time to exercise. Don’t worry because everyone struggles with the same problems. Most of us aren’t able to leisurely wake up at 9am, eat a good breakfast and workout at 11am. Wouldn’t that be nice! (Unless you ARE a morning person, in which case you may actually ENJOY waking up at 5am to workout).

TIU Girls! I strive for legs like these! ♥

Whether you are a full time student and working weekends to pay your bills, or you work full time, or you’re a stay at home mom…it’s always hard to find the time (and motivation) to fit in a 30-60 min workout. Here are some tips that have helped me find the motivation, and keep it.

  1. Find a time that works for you! – I am definitely not a morning person, I am lucky if I can get out of bed at 7am to go for a 30 min walk with my puppy. For me, I have to work out the second I get home from work, or else I just don’t do it. If I allow myself to sit on the couch and watch just ONE show, it turns into a full night marathon. Toning up has become a priority for me, due to my upcoming wedding… so I just don’t give myself any slack.
  2. Ditch modern conveniences. – If you work in an office like me, instead of IMing your c0-worker, walk down the hall to talk to them, take the stairs instead of the elevator, and stand while talking on the telephone. All of these little things add up!
  3. Get away! – On your 10 min breaks, take a few laps around your building while talking to a friend. I am lucky my company values health, that whenever we take a walk, they give us a ticket to win a prize at the end of the month! (They are just simple, but maybe you can mention this to your boss). You can easily walk .5-1 mile in about 15 mins if you are walking briskly. Imagine if you did that 2 times a day! If you’re a student, park your car a little further from your classes, or bike to school if you live less than 3 miles away!
  4. Find something that fits into your schedule! – Maybe you don’t have time to drive to the gym and back, let alone stay in a 1 hour class at the gym. Find something that fits. If you only have 1 hour a day to work out, try an at home workout program like INSANITY (my current love) or P90X. If you have less time, try watching Blogilaties or the ToneItUp girls on Youtube! Even Netflix has workout programs you can watch if you have a subscription.
  5. Dress for success! – As soon as I walk in the door after work, I put on my workout clothes, get my fiance in his, and pop in the DVD. To me, it’s that simple. I get home around 6:30 pm and if I wait too long, I am eating dinner at like 9! Like I mentioned before, if I say to myself “oh, after this one show” I will never do it. Invest in a DVR and you can watch your shows whenever (I catch up on Saturday mornings after my workout) but if you keep putting off your workouts, you will keep putting on the extra pounds.

I hope that some of these tips were helpful for you. It’s all about changing your mindset. If you make fitness a priority, it will start to feel like less of a chore. You will feel proud of yourself after each workout and your confidence will grow. As you start seeing your body change, it will make you even more motivated to work harder, squeeze in an extra 10 mins on your workout, or add a few more workouts per week. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

