My new found love of H2O!

17 May

I have always heard people say you should drink half your body weight in water every day. I never understood, because I felt like every time I drank water, I just had to pee šŸ˜‰ But as I have been getting older and wiser, I have learned how important water is.

I just wanted to share this post, with my own experience. I think it’s great to read why a doctor says water is important, but I also know that hearing things first hand is often much better. So here is my experience :

I would say that probably about a month ago, is when I started drinking 80 ounces of water per day… I bought this water bottle:

Shown with a portion of my M2 snack…an apple šŸ™‚

It’s 32 ounces so I drink all of this before lunch, then I refill it and drink another before dinner. After dinner I usually drink another 16-20 ounces. Trust me, buying a large water bottle like this makes it so easy, because it sits on my desk, and it stares at me all day. If I get thirsty, instead of going to the vending machine to buy a water bottle ($1.25 each!) or an Iced Tea (not a big fan of soda), I know I have this water just waiting for me. I have gallon jugs at home that I refill for $.25 cents each! That’s 5 gallons of water for $1.25! I don’t even want to know how much I was spending on water bottles before, without even thinking about it! My advice, buy one of these water bottles if you don’t already have one! 32 ounces is best because you don’t have to refill it a hundred times a day. You will save money, time and the environment! What could be better?

Let me tell you what some of the benefits that I have noticed in my body & life since I started being more water conscious!

  1. I have a hell of a lot more energy than I did a month ago. This could be because I have been working out more, getting 8 hours of sleep and eating better, but I contribute a lot of how I feel to the water I have been drinking.
  2. I have been sleeping better. I don’t know if this is a scientific fact, but since I have been drinking more water, I have been falling asleep faster, and haven’t suffered from any insomnia.
  3. My body feels less “puffy”. That is definitely not a scientific term, but I am feeling tighter and leaner. I know I am building muscle from my INSANITY workouts, but i was noticing that my hips, butt and thighs are feeling leaner and firmer. Thank you H2O!
  4. My skin is clearing up, no joke! A few months ago I went to get a facial at a resort in Cabo San Lucas. The Esthetician couldn’t understand my skin because she said it wasn’t oily, but I had pimples all around my chin and nose. She said maybe it was hormonal, and that made total sense to me. Once I stopped taking birth control a few years ago (because it was making me super bitchy) my skin got pretty bad. A small price to pay to return to my normal happy self. Once I started drinking more water, my acne has become much less severe and very rare. When I do get a breakout, it’s pretty small now. šŸ™‚

Overall, I will never go back to drinking barely a glass or two of water a day. I will always drink 80 or more ounces a day. I still enjoy coffee in the morning, but the only other liquids I drink is Almond Milk and Water (and the occasional glass or two of wine on the weekends…i am only human). I hope this blog post inspires you to drink more water. In college, thirsty Thursday used to mean getting hammered, now it means getting healthy! šŸ™‚

Xoxo

2 Responses to “My new found love of H2O!”

  1. morphinglifeschemas May 19, 2012 at 8:07 am #

    Great topic and great post! The biggest positive effect of increasing water for me was on my digestive system. My yoga teacher taught me this. He told me to have a lot of water as soon as i got up and it really helped me get regular (oops I said it šŸ™‚ , but its true and it really helps. Now I am a big fan of water.

    I have also heard of people having warm water with lemon in the morning, as that acts as a cleanser (generally for the whole body and not just for the digestive system). Never tried it.

Leave a Reply

