What I am Loving : Lala Love Lara Bars and Zico Water!

16 May

OMG, I have a new obsession. While on my journey to eating lean, clean and green…I have discovered Lara Bars! How could I have not known about these little gems before?

I work a full time 9 hour a day job, and I am a dancer (jazz and contemporary people!) I need fast snacks that are healthy and filling. Many “nutrition bars” out there are packed with sugar and preservatives. Lara bars have the simplist of ingredients. They have a bar called Coconut Cream Pie…and it really tastes like pie! The only ingredients : Dates, Unsweetened Coconut, Almonds, Cachews and Extra Virgin Coconut Oil! Thats it! Yesterday I had Banana Nut Bread Flavor that was just Almonds, Dates and Unsweetened Banana. They have 6 grams of protein, 5 grams of fiber and 13% of the recommended daily value of Potassium per bar! Who knew such a simple recipe would make such a filling snack. They come in a little over 200 calories, and are gluten and dairy free! Score! 

The other thing I have been loving is Zico Coconut Water. Did you know coconut water has more electrolytes than your average sports drink? And it’s natural! A bottle has about 60 calories. I drink this during my INSANITY workouts and it fuels my body nicely without weighing me down. It’s lite and natural. (I particularly favor the Pineapple flavored one!). So far, I have only found these at Sprouts (in San Diego) but I am sure many healthier grocery stores will carry them! 

Until Next Time!

7 Responses to “What I am Loving : Lala Love Lara Bars and Zico Water!”

  1. morphinglifeschemas May 16, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    Love coconut water – craving some right now its really hot here 🙂 Totally agree with the hydration from the coconut water. Love the feeling of drinking it, and it is probably better than most of the man made stuff out there.

    • Stephanie May 16, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

      Absolutely better than the manmade stuff. And it’s great if you have a sweet tooth like me! 🙂

  2. GetFitWithTJ May 16, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    Love the coconut water… it really refreshes me… could really use one right now 🙂

    • Stephanie May 16, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

      TJ, do you have 2 blogs?

      • GetFitWithTJ May 16, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

        WordPress was acting weird on me for some reason… GetFitWithTJ is my blog now… love your theme! makes me want to read 🙂

      • Stephanie May 16, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

        Yay I am glad you like it. It’s just one of the free ones.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Insanity Recovery Week Day 31! I challenge you! « Natural Beauty Mark - May 31, 2012

    […] thing that I think has really been helping me get through the workouts is Coconut Water! I discovered Zico Chocolate Coconut water too, and I use that as a sweet treat during the day […]

Leave a Reply

